• coldwellbanker
  • Linda Gillam
  • image
  • image
  • almanor energy

Young equestrians make tracks in the dirt

Lacie Banchio presents the U.S. flag while Addie Tilton carries the California state flag during the July 26 Taylorsville Junior Rodeo grand entry. Photos courtesy Tim and Linda Pitlock
Samantha P. Hawthorne
Staff Writer

Taylorsville was filled with young equestrians of all ages and experience levels ready to compete in the 13th annual Taylorsville Junior Rodeo on July 26.

Indian Valley Riding and Roping Club hosted the rodeo, which brought talented riders from Northern California, Oregon and Nevada to the Taylorsville rodeo grounds.

Out of the 100 riders, the all-around cowboy and cowgirl titles both went to Taylorsville residents: Tanner Meigs and Shasta Banchio, respectively. They were both awarded a custom saddle, sponsored by the Neer family, S Bar J Cattle Co., John Goings, family and friends of John Taborski and the Mannies family.

Tanner Meigs, 15, was last year’s Plumas County champion. This year he placed first in the boy’s 15 – 19 division breakaway competition, third in the single-stake competition and was named all-around champion in his age group.

Banchio was also chosen as this year’s Plumas County champion; she and Meigs also won first place in the team-roping event. In her division, girls 11 – 14, she won first place in the goat-tying and breakaway competitions and second in pole bending, and she was named all-around champion.

Maple Gramps was chosen by the Wilson family as this year’s recipient of the Hard Luck Award, in memory of past rodeo competitor Ron Wilson.

Peewee Division

For being one of two contestants who earned placements in more than one Peewee Division competition, Kenley Neer earned the title of all-around champ in the 0 – 5 age group.

Neer placed second in both the ribbon-jerk and mutton-busting competitions.

Kolt Cardenas took the first and only placement for dummy roping.

Mackenzie Kirkendoll took first in ribbon jerk.

Sawyer Foster placed first in mutton busting.

Mae Musachia was the only other contestant to place in two competitions within her division. She won third place for both ribbon jerk and mutton busting.

Girls 6 – 10

All-around champ for the girls 6 – 10 division was Shelby Dunning. She took first place in pole bending and goat tying, and first in steer daubing.

First in the barrels competition was Lacey Bullivant. She also placed in the top ranks in every other competition in her age group.

Kamish Wagner took first place in the steer-daubing competition and placed third in pole bending and fourth in goat tying.

Boys 6 – 10

For the second year in a row, all-around champion for the boys 6 – 10 division was Kyle Stewart. He placed first in goat tying and steer daubing, and second in the single-stake competition.

Blake Myers came in first in the single-stake completion and also placed second in steer daubing.

Reno McGill won first place in steer riding and placed third in goat tying.

Girls 11 – 14

Shasta Banchio earned all-around champion in her age group for placing in the top ranks in all but one competition.

Jayce Blake earned first in pole bending, second in goat tying and fourth in barrels.

Nicole Tomasello earned first in barrels and fourth in pole bending.

Boys 11 –14

Once again Cody Stewart earned the title of all-around champ in the boys 11 – 14 division. He earned first place for goat tying and third for single stake.

Corte Smith was the only winner in the breakaway competition, and he also won second for steer riding.

Drew Tilton won first in single stake and third for goat tying.

James Banister won first in steer riding.

Girls 15 – 19

Abigail Pfister earned the title of all-around champ in the girls 15 – 19 division. She also placed first in pole bending, fourth in barrels and third in breakaway.

Hannah Tems placed first in goat tying.

Lindy Lehman earned first place in goat tying.

Emilie Barnes earned first in the barrel competition.

Helena DeCasa placed first in the breakaway competition, as well as fourth in pole bending and second for goat tying.

Boys 15 – 19

Meigs earned all-around champion in his age group for placing in the top ranks in two of the three competitions he participated in.

Wyatt Spencer placed first in goat tying.

Caden Lehman earned first place in the single-stake competition.

Jordan Meisenheimer earned first place for steer riding.

For a complete list of buckle sponsors and rodeo results, visit

  • Search area
    • Site
    • Web
  • Search type
    • Web
    • Image
    • News
    • Video
  • Power by JLex


Yellow Pages