Golf Results for the week of 8/8/2014

LACC Women’s Golf

Club Champion players teed up July 29 for the third and final day of the tournament with a field of 11. Kathy Roseler had to drop out because of an injury. Competing were Maggie Fleming, Lee Hunter, Jessie King, Carol Lunsford, Darlene Donaldson, Kathy Fuller, Karen Schmidt, Linda Yaap, Joan D’Angelo, Jean Rolls and Joan Johnson. The results will be announced at the end-of-season Captain & Crew party in August.

Following the field, 19 players played “Triple Three,” counting the scores of three par 3’s, three par 4’s and three par 5’s out of 18 holes. The winners in the first flight were Karen Holmstrom, Mary Craig, Mary Ann Broderick and Jude Morse. The second flight winners were Angie Gamble, Karen Griffin and Claudine Gurney. Anita Crowther and Peggy Lentz tied for the fourth place.

Whitehawk Ladies Golf

“Funny Ball” was the game for the ladies at Whitehawk. One extra net “pop” for whoever had the funny ball — rotated between the players of each team. Coming in first place was the team of Ann Verutti, Diane Romig and the ever-present Barbara Competello. Second place went to the team of Joann West, Virginia Luhring and Victoria Simone.

Mt. Huff Golf

The thundershowers were wise to hold off until late afternoon Wednesday, July 30, allowing plenty of play time for the Wednesday Morning Scramble.

Coming in at first place at 7 under parwas the thunderous team of Mary Trafton, Bill McRoberts and Gary Metzdorf.

With lightning speed, the second-place team, at 6 under par, was composed of Danny Rooney, Loren Lindner and Margie Joseph.

Closest to the pin and the chip-in were won by Loren Lindner. Looks like Loren had a banner day!

The clouds stayed at bay for the Thursday Evening Scramble on July 31.

An outstanding turnout allowed three teams to place for recognition.

In first place was the team of Austin Linford, Don Guess, Leaf Van Pelt and Zach Russell.

Second-place scorers were Joe Pogue, Richard Mauldin, Wes Morgan and Dan Rodney.

In third place came Greg Stevens, Jeff Stevens, Margie Joseph and Loren Lindner.

The long drive and the closest to the pin were won by Zach Russell.

Graeagle Meadows
Women’s Golf Club

Thursday, July 31, was the monthly qualifier for the year-end Ace of Aces Playoff.July’s Ace of Aces qualifiers were as follows:red tee division: low gross,Cheryl Brennan with a score of 95;low net,Alaine Flynn (73).Combo tee division: low net,Annie Fischer (68).There was also a playday game called “Alternate Country,” with very complicated scoring.The Alternate Country winners were as follows:red tee division: low gross, Priscilla Piper;low net, first place, Cheryl Brennan; second place,Donna Swanson; and third place, Karen Linde.Combo tee division: low gross,Ellen Fearing;low net,first place, Annie Fischer; second place,Ann Pratt;third place, Maureen Ford; fourth place, Pat Grew.Cheryl Brennan had two chip-ins and Annie Fischer had one.

Plumas Pines
Women’s Golf Club

On Tuesday, July 29, Plumas Pines Women’s Golf Club played Low Gross, Low Net, Low Putts. Members were also competing in the third qualifier for the Captain’s Cup Tournament, to be held Sept. 30. The players who qualified for Captain’s Cup were Kathleen Friedman, low gross, 88, and Scooter Kidwell, low net, 67.

The rest of the field scored as follows: flight 1: Janie Grosman, low gross, 89; Kathy Sipel, first low net, 72; Jackie Luckey, second low net, 73; Kathy Sipel, low putts, 28. Flight 2: Diane Trainor, low gross, 109; Laurie Humphries, first low net (in a card-off), 71; Patty Rohman, second low net, 71; Patty Rohman, low putts, 31.

Chip-ins were scored by Janet Grijalva, Scooter Kidwell, Diane Trainor and Renee Walker.

The PPWGC Handicap Championship has also been completed. Diane Trainor is the champion with a net 226 over the three days. Way to go, Diane!

Plumas Pines
Men’s Golf Club

On July 10 and 17 the Plumas Pines Men’s Golf Club held its annual Club Championship. Kim Roberts rose to the top of the field by shooting 76-73 - 149 to claim the low gross title. Last year’s champion, Jordan Archuleta, was runner-up after shooting 76-77 - 153. This is longtime club member Roberts’ sixth club championship, with titles in 2014, 2012, 2003, 2000, 1997 and 1993.

In the net divisions Brad Miller captured the President’s Flight by shooting 68-73 - 141 to edge out runners-up John Kidwell (67-76 - 143) and Paul Jeglum (72-71 - 143). Dave Stone took the Vice President’s Flight by shooting lights-out in the second round with a total score of 71-65 - 136. Runner-up Frank Motzkus was a distant second at 75-70 - 145. The Secretary’s Flight was played from the new gold tees and Ernie Givani not only won the flight with a score of 68-64 - 132 but also shot his age in the second round on his gross score. Runner-up Michael Peters was five strokes back after shooting 69-68 - 137.

The Plumas Pines men’s club continues its Thursday playdays and will hold the Senior and Super-Senior Club Championships in August, followed by the highly popular annual member-guest event, the Mountain Classic, in September. More details can be found on the golf course website

To have your golf results and club news included in this weekly section, email the information to by Friday at 3 p.m.

  • Search area
    • Site
    • Web
  • Search type
    • Web
    • Image
    • News
    • Video
  • Power by JLex