Golf Results for the week of 6/27/2012

Feather Publishing

Mt. Huff Wednesday Scramble

It was the first day of summer and a great day for golf! A good turnout for the Mt. Huff Wednesday Morning Scramble on June 29 gave us two winning teams.

In first place was the team of Barbara Quam, Mike Ingle and Darel Joseph.

In second place were Gary Hughes, Jim Bryant and Zack Russell.

Closest to the pin honors went to Ted Trafton and the chip-in competition was a tie between Gary Hughes and Al Brubaker.

Just a note — the new telephone number for Mt. Huff Golf Course is 284-6300.


Whitehawk Ranch Ladies Golf Club

On Wednesday, June 20, the Whitehawk Ranch Ladies Golf Club had its monthly “Ace of Aces” qualifying round. The low gross winner was Patty McNamara who shot a gross 72! That is the lowest score to ever be posted on a WHRLGC play day and it was also Patty’s personal best! Wow — are we impressed! The low net winner was Marcia Zeigler with a net 67. Congratulations to both ladies who qualify for our “Ace of Aces” tournament in the fall.

We had a wonderful turnout of 16 golfers, including newcomers Jody Arens and Jean Schultz. After golf we were treated to a lovely lunch in the shade of the trees. Once again, Shirley and her staff outdid themselves with delicious sandwiches, salads, drinks and dessert. After lunch our general meeting took place with Captain Denise Stein at the helm. Gorgeous weather, fun camaraderie and some great golf were abundant! Happy golfing.

Women’s LACC Golf

On Tuesday, June 19, the 18-hole group played its regular golf game and here are the results:

First flight: Madeleine Furman, Linda Johnson, Trudi Leete and Cindy Wittenburg.

Second flight: Genny Davis, Martha Vlahos, Nancy Foote and Jude Morse.

Third flight: Madeleine Protsman, Joan Johnson and Collette Prentke.

Lake Almanor West Women’s Golf Club

Today we played Combo Tees — thank goodness we get a little more handicap. We really get a different perspective of the golf course from the men’s tees.

There were no birdies today, but we did have two chip-ins: Karen Nelson on No. 2 and Sharon Auge on No. 5. This is two weeks in a row for Sharon getting chip-ins.

We had two flights today, and the winners were:

First flight: first place, Julie Azevedo with a net 77; second place, Betty Duncan with a net 79; and third place, Linda Kluge with a net 81.

Second flight: first place, Judy Cooper with a net 72; second place, Karen Nelson with a net 75; third place, Sharon Auge with a net 78.


Graeagle Meadows Women’s Golf Club

On Thursday, June 21, the Graeagle Meadows Women’s Golf Club completed the third round of its annual Captain’s Cup Tournament. The winner over the field was Karen Fraser with Gail Nelson taking second place.

Lynne Hogan took first place in the first flight. There was a tie for second place among Bev Reynolds, Holly Anderson and Cheryl Brennan. In the second flight there was a tie for first place between Ellen Fearing and Linda Bilger. Dee Walker and Jay Fisher tied for second place. Following the tournament the members enjoyed lunch at the Graeagle Meadows Club House.


Mt. Huff Thursday Scramble

Mt. Huff’s Thursday Night Scramble was again well attended. The weather was just breezy enough to keep the heat and the mosquitoes down.

There were nine full teams with Don and Jessie Guess, Auston Linford and David Smuts taking first; Greg Stevens, Richard Mauldin, Mike Banchio and Peter Bonerz in second place; and taking a respectable third was the family affair of brothers Casey and Cooper Kingdon, grandson Justin Posch and grandpa Loren Lindner.

Into a mighty prevailing wind, Auston Linford hit the longest drive and Richard Dalton was closest to the pin.

If you aren’t interested in golfing, the kitchen at Mt. Huff has reopened with terrific hamburgers and such. Sit on the deck and watch your loved ones golf and enjoy a drink.

Call for any information, 284-6300.


Plumas Pines Women’s Golf Club

On Tuesday, June 19, the Plumas Pines ladies played a four-person team game: one gross best ball and one net best ball (could not be the same ball). Each team had an A, B, C and D player in it. The winning teams were as follows: first place, Janet Holladay, Jeanine McDonald, Shirley Agnos and Nina Dupont-Stone. In second place were Annie Meyer and Jackie Luckey, plus two blind draws. Renee Walker, Jan Talbot, Jan Pierce and Connie Raheb took third place.


To have your golf results and club news included in this weekly section, email the information to by Friday at 3 p.m.

  • Search area
    • Site
    • Web
  • Search type
    • Web
    • Image
    • News
    • Video
  • Power by JLex