[the_ad_placement id=”banner-right-placement”]

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]

Crowded field seeks to succeed Dahle in the state assembly

Five candidates filed election papers by the July 3 deadline to fill the Assembly District 1 seat vacated by Brian Dahle. The California Secretary of State’s office was scheduled to release the official list today, after reviewing all of the paperwork.

Governor Gavin Newsom called for the Aug. 27 election after Dahle won the June 4 special election to fill the District 1 Senate seat vacated by Ted Gaines who was elected to the California State Board of Equalization in January.

The candidates include one Democrat, Elizabeth Betancourt, and four Republicans: Megan Dahle, Patrick Jones, Lane Rickard and Joe Turner.

Betancourt, 39, works for theCentral Valley Regional Water Quality Control Board, specializing in cannabis permitting. She is from Shasta County.

Megan Dahle, 43, is the chief operating officer for her family’s business, Big Valley Seed Company. She is a Lassen County resident and hopes to succeed her husband Brian in the assembly.

Patrick Henry Jones, 51, owns Jones Fort Gun Shop in Redding and served two terms on the Redding City Council, including a tenure as the city’s mayor. He is a Shasta County resident.

Lane Rickard, 24, also hails from Shasta County. He was a former staffer for State Senator Ted Gaines.

Joe Turner is the former chairman of the Lassen County Republican Central Committee. He is a resident of Milford.

The First Assembly District includes portions of Butte and Placer counties, as well as all of Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra and Siskiyou counties.

A Special Primary Election will be held Tuesday, Aug. 27. If no candidate receives 50 percent of the vote plus one vote, the top two candidates will then advance to the General Election set for Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Voter guides should be in the mail before Aug. 6. Vote-by-mail ballots should be out by the week of July 29.

The last day to register to vote is Monday, Aug. 12. Those who fail to register by that day may be able to register at the Elections Office.

Vote-by-mail ballots must be postmarked by Aug. 27 and received by Aug. 30.

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]