[the_ad_placement id=”banner-right-placement”]

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]

Few local races in Plumas for the November election

By Debra Moore

[email protected]

While there were three Feather River College trustee areas and three Plumas Unified School District trustee areas up for election this November, only one will be on the ballot — Trustee Area 5 (East Quincy/Graeagle) for Plumas Unified.

Here is how the other trustee areas shaped up:

Feather River College

            Trustee Area 1 – (Portola area/Delleker/Davis/Iron Horse) No one filed for this area, so the college board will make a provisional appointment.

            Trustee Area 2 – (Indian Valley, Canyon, part of East Quincy) Guy McNett is not challenged and he will serve another term.

            Trustee Area 5 – (East Quincy/Graeagle area) Abigail Marshall from the Graeagle area was the only individual to file for the area.

Plumas Unified School District

            Trustee Area 3: (Lake Almanor) No one filed for this trusteed area.

            Trustee Area 4: (Quincy) JoDee Read, the incumbent, is unchallenged in her bid for another term.

            Trustee Area 5: (East Quincy/Graeagle area) Incumbent Leslie Edlund and challenger Coby Hakalir have both filed.

Other ballot races

In addition to the Trustee Area 5 for PUSD, voters in the Almanor Basin will be voting on a Seneca Healthcare District bond measure; and Portola residents will be voting for their city council members. They will be asked to vote for two of three individuals on the ballot. They include two incumbents Phil Oels and Bill Powers, and emergency room technician Leah Turner.

Other information of note:

  • The last day to register to vote for the Nov. 8 General Election is Oct. 24.
  • All California active registered voters will receive a vote-by-mail ballot for the election.
  • Your county elections office will begin mailing ballots by Oct. 10.
  • Your General Election ballot will include:
  • 7 Ballot Propositions
  • Statewide candidates for U.S. Senate, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Controller, Treasurer, Attorney General, Insurance Commissioner, Member of State Board of Equalization, State Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • S. Representative in Congress, State Senator, State Assembly Member
  • Supreme Court Justices, as well as other local candidates and local measures.
  • Return your vote-by-mail ballot by mail with prepaid postage, as long as it’s postmarked on or before Election Day and received by Nov.15, or in-person to a secure ballot drop box, to a voting location or your county elections office by 8 p.m. on Nov. 8.

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]