[the_ad_placement id=”banner-right-placement”]

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]

Graeagle Meadows Mens and Womens clubs play a round

Compiled by Mari Erin Roth

[email protected]

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  The annual Cross-Country Tournament, also known as the Kinkley Classic, took place on Oct. 19 at Graeagle Meadows Golf Course.  It was a perfect day for playing golf according to participants: sunshine and no wind. Thirteen women and 20 men competed in a straight scramble format.  Each team member hit a shot and the best shot was selected. Everyone hit the next shot from that location.  Gary Kinkley, long time GMGA Tournament Chairman, and his committee realign the golf course.  For example, the first tee is played to the second green, the first green is played from a temporary tee in the second fairway, and so on.  Each tee and green are played from places on the golf course that only the most erratic golfers have ever visited.

The first-place team for the women was the team of Cynthia Baldwin, Dee Walker, Chris Spencer, and Diane Forsberg with a net score of 52.  Second place was won by the team of Sharon Russell, Cheryl Brennan, and Patty Monaghan with a net score of 54.  In the men’s division, coming in first was the team of Mick Soli, Norman Nichols, Bryan Hansen, and Tom Fregulia with a net score of 52.  The second-place team was Bill Harrison, Jeff Monaghan, Wally Walker, and Dennis Flynn with a net score of 54.  Third place went to Ronald Wilk, Grant Mayfield, Steve Petersen, and Chuck Franck with a net score of 59.

Many thanks to Norm and Carol Miller for these reports on the 2022 Graeagle golf club play days and tournaments. May they stay warm and toasty in Tucson until next season when Plumas County courses are again filled with club golfers.


The Graeagle women’s winning team from left, Chris Spencer, Dee Walker, Cynthia Baldwin and Diane Forsberg.  Photo by Norm Miller
Graeagle Meadows Men’s Association members from left, Tournament Chair Gary Kinkley, and team members Tom Fregulia, Norm Nichols and Bryan Hansen.  Not shown is teammate Mick Soli. Photo Norm Miller




[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]