[the_ad_placement id=”banner-right-placement”]

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]

A fine herd of Elks gather at the Lake Almanor Elk’s Lodge #2626 to celebrate and congratulate the nine scholarship winners seated at the head table. Good food, good conversation and fine students getting ready for their future. Photo by Gregg Scott

Lake Almanor Elks hold annual scholarship dinner

By Gregg Scott

Staff Writer

Members gathered  at the Lake Almanor Elk’s Lodge #2626 on May 23 to celebrate and congratulate the nine senior students from four area high schools that were receiving scholarships. These students were the reason for the gathering, but in traditional Elk’s style, everyone got to enjoy a fine meal before the award ceremony began.

The scholarship winners were as follows: Genesee Majors, Westwood High $1000; Elizabeth Foos, St. Andrews Academy $1200; Ava Townsend, Chester High $1200; Parker Montgomery, Chester High $1000; Hailey White, Plumas Charter School $1000; Sophia Arredondo, Chester High $1500; Ava Helling, Chester High $1000,;Raymond Wyckoff, Westwood High $1000; and Faith Oswald, Chester High $1500.

Most of the recipients have not decided exactly what they want to do yet, except they do want to continue their education and gain experience before deciding. That is not an uncommon theme for graduating seniors and a wise one for many.

 Elks Scholarship Coordinator noted that, as in years before, the judging this year was very hard due to the great applications from local seniors. The judging panel was made up of Si Bollinger, Dick Horn, Jack Forester and Bill Mahaffey. “So many good applications,” said Si Bollinger.

Eight of the nine successful recipients of the 2023 Elk’s Lodge scholarships are from left, back row: Hailey White, Ava Townsend, Faith Oswald and Parker Montgomery. Front row: Genesee Majors, Sophia Arredondo, Ava Helling and Elizabeth Foos. Photo by Gregg Scott
The ninth scholarship recipient for this year is Raymond Wyckoff from Westwood. He had a little snag in getting to Chester so he was a few minutes after the photo session. Photo by Gregg Scott
Here are the gentlemen Elks that have the arduous task of wading through the applications of so many fine student applicants. Scholarship Judges from left are: Si Bollinger, Bill Mahaffey (Coordinator), Dick Horn and Jack Forester. A big Thank You from the community for all your dedicated work. Photo by Gregg Scott

One thought on “Lake Almanor Elks hold annual scholarship dinner

  • Thank you to the Elks and congratulations to all the winners! Best of luck in your next chapter.

Comments are closed.

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]