[the_ad_placement id=”banner-right-placement”]

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]

Plumas League lists candidate forums

Plumas County candidates for district and countywide office will meet the public in a series of five forums, sponsored by the League of Women Voters of Plumas County, that begin April 20 in Quincy.

Incumbent District 5 Supervisor Jeff Engel and challenger Mimi Garner, a Realtor-broker, will face off in the Quincy Library Conference Room  at 445 Jackson St., answering written questions posed by the public in attendance.

The 7 p.m. forum will also include candidates for county sheriff and assessor. Incumbent Sheriff Todd Johns is being challenged by Dwight L. Cline, retired sheriff’s sergeant. Incumbent Assessor Cindie Froggatt faces challenger Amy M. Hendrickson, county chief appraiser.

On April 27, candidates for Plumas County District 3 supervisor will appear in a 7 p.m. forum at Chester Memorial Hall (225 Gay St.). Kelley Cote is a child support director. Thomas M. McGowan is a retired business owner. The event will include the candidates for county sheriff and assessor.

On April 28, Sheriff’s candidates Todd and Cline and Assessor candidates, Froggatt and Hendrickson will be part of a 7 p.m. Indian Valley forum at the Taylorsville Historic Hall (4322 Main St.).

District 5 supervisorial candidates Engel and Garner, Sheriff’s candidates Todd and Cline, and Assessor candidates, Froggatt and Hendrickson will be part of 2 additional 7 p.m. forums on May 4 at the Graeagle Fire Hall (7620 Hwy 89), and May 5 at the Portola Veterans/Memorial Hall (449 W. Sierra (Hwy 70).

Four countywide offices up for election are uncontested. County Clerk-Recorder Marcy DeMartile, District Attorney David Hollister, Superintendent of Schools William John Roderick, and Treasurer-Tax Collector Julie A. White are all running without opponents. They have been invited to speak at all five League of Women Voters election forums.

All of the League’s five forums start at 7 p.m. and are expected to end around 9 p.m. The public will have an opportunity to submit written questions to all candidates vying for offices that are contested. For further information, contact Plumas League President Jane Braxton Little at 530-258-9412.

 The League of Women Voters is a non-partisan organization of women and men devoted to increasing civic dialogue and public involvement in democratic processes at the local, state and national levels.

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]