[the_ad_placement id=”banner-right-placement”]

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]

Plumas part of presidential declaration of emergency

At the request of Gov. Gavin Newsom, President Biden declared that an emergency exists in California and ordered federal assistance to supplement state, tribal, and local response efforts due to the emergency conditions resulting from severe winter storms, flooding, landslides, and mudslides beginning on March 9 and continuing.

The President’s action authorizes the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), to coordinate all disaster relief efforts to alleviate hardship on residents and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe. The following counties were included in the order: Amador, Butte, El Dorado, Fresno, Humboldt, Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Lake, Los Angeles, Madera, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Mono, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Francisco, San Mateo, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Sierra, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Tulare, Tuolumne, and Yuba.

Assistance provided will be funded 75 percent by the federal government.

The Plumas Board of Supervisors had declared its own state of emergency for the county during its March 7 meeting, which is retroactive to the beginning of the storm and enables the county to seek state assistance as a result of this series of storms.

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]