Three school board and three college board seats on the November ballot

Any interest in serving on the college or school district boards of trustees? Now is the time to submit your paperwork for the November 8 General Election.

Three Feather River College trustee areas and three Plumas Unified School District trustee areas are up for election on the November ballot, and interested candidates have until Aug. 12 to file their papers. The trustee areas have been redrawn following the 2020 Census, and the trustee area identifying numbers have changed to more closely align with the county supervisorial districts.

The trustee areas up for election in November:

Feather River College


            Trustee Area 1 – (Portola area) no incumbent

            Trustee Area 2 – (Indian Valley, Canyon, part of East Quincy) Guy McNett and Bill Elliott currently serving, but Elliott has indicated he will retire his position. The duality is due to the redrawn lines. McNett lives in Indian Valley and Elliott in East Quincy.

            Trustee Area 5 – (East Quincy/Graeagle area) no incumbent

Plumas Unified School District

            Trustee Area 3: (Lake Almanor) Traci Holt announced she will not seek another term.

            Trustee Area 4: (Quincy) JoDee Read said she will seek another term.

            Trustee Area 5: (East Quincy/Graeagle area) Leslie Edlund is undecided.

If you are not sure which trustee area you reside in, you can contact the county elections office at 530-283-6256 or send an email [email protected]

Maps of the newly drawn districts will soon be available on the county’s GIS page.

Other information of note:

  • The last day to register to vote for the Nov. 8 General Election is Oct. 24.
  • All California active registered voters will receive a vote-by-mail ballot for the election.
  • Your county elections office will begin mailing ballots by Oct. 10.
  • Your General Election ballot will include:
  • 7 Ballot Propositions
  • Statewide candidates for U.S. Senate, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Controller, Treasurer, Attorney General, Insurance Commissioner, Member of State Board of Equalization, State Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • S. Representative in Congress, State Senator, State Assembly Member
  • Supreme Court Justices, as well as other local candidates and local measures.
  • Return your vote-by-mail ballot by mail with prepaid postage, as long as it’s postmarked on or before Election Day and received by Nov.15, or in-person to a secure ballot drop box, to a voting location or your county elections office by 8 p.m. on Nov. 8.