[the_ad_placement id=”banner-right-placement”]

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]

Voter turnout hovers at 43 percent for Nov. 5 election

Approximately 43 percent of registered Plumas County voters cast their ballot in the Nov. 5 election.

Those that did voted to send Republican Meghan Dahle to the state assembly representing District 1 with 59.18 percent of the Plumas vote over Democrat Elizabeth Betancourt (40.82 percent) in the unofficial results. That followed the district trend where Dahle garnered 57.9 percent of the vote to Betancourt’s 42.1 percent.

Meghan Dahle will be joining her husband, Brian Dahle, in the state legislature, where he is the District 1 senator.

There were two special district races on the ballot: Beckwourth Fire Protection District and the Chester Public Utility District.

In the Beckwourth Fire race, voters could vote for three of the five candidates. The results are as follows: Denisce Downs, 25.96 percent; Daniel Smith, 25.41 percent; George Bundy, 21.86 percent; Jennifer Langston, 13.93 percent; and Gayanna Miller, 12.3 percent.

Voters were asked to vote for two of three candidates for the Chester Utility District. The results are: Stephen Voboril, 46.97 percent; Royce Raker, 33.38 percent; and Stephen Graffweg, 18.57 percent.

Congratulations on 60

“This is my 60th election,” County Clerk Recorder Kathy Williams said the morning of the election. And as the Nov. 5 election cycle drew to a close, work is ramping up for the March 3 Presidential Primary, which includes local races for supervisor.

While Plumas County employees enjoyed a day off for Veteran’s Day, Nov. 11, county elections staff worked because the day marked the first date that candidates could submit their declaration of candidacy papers. As this newspaper went to press it was unknown if any individuals actually submitted their nominating papers that day.

To date, only Sheriff Greg Hagwood has taken out papers to represent District 4, succeeding Supervisor Lori Simpson, who announced that she didn’t plan to seek another term.

Three individuals have taken out papers to represent District 2: Incumbent Kevin Goss, Phil Shannon and Greg Cameron.

Four individuals have obtained papers to represent District 1, the seat formerly held by Michael Sanchez. They are John Pato, Dwight Ceresola, Ryan Rogers and Jason Christian.

Though these individuals have taken out the necessary paperwork, they don’t become candidates until the documents are filed with the county. They have until Dec. 6 to do so. And there is still time for other candidates to emerge.

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]