[the_ad_placement id=”banner-right-placement”]

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]

Write-in option not always available

Even though the midterm election is Nov. 6, Plumas County residents can begin voting much earlier.

The ballots will be put in the mail Tuesday, Oct. 9. Plumas is a vote-by-mail county, with no precinct polling places. However, voters can cast their ballots at the elections office in the county courthouse.

“It’s very important that if you’ve moved, you contact the elections office,” said Kathy Williams, the county’s chief elections official.

The last day to register to vote for the Nov. 6 election is Oct. 22.

Three healthcare districts, one seat on the Feather River College Board of Trustees and four seats on the Portola City Council will be on the Nov. 6 ballot, along with Measure B, the local cannabis initiative. Additionally state and federal offices, such as the race between Audrey Denney and Doug LaMalfa for Congressional District 1, will be on the ballot.

Of the four health care districts in the county, only voters in the Indian Valley district will not see candidates on their ballots. The three incumbents are not being challenged.

On the education front, the three incumbents for the Plumas Unified School District Board of Trustees are unchallenged, but voters throughout the county will select a representative to the Feather River College board.

And, in the city of Portola, 11 individuals will by vying for four seats.

Eastern Plumas Health Care District

Incumbents Gail McGrath, Harvey Edward West III and Lucy Kreth have filed to run for another term. They are being challenged by Peggy Sampson and Teresa Whitfield. The top three vote earners will be seated.

Plumas District Hospital

Incumbents John Kimmel and Bill Wickman have filed for another term. They will be challenged by Andrew Ryback and Marty Walters. The top three vote earners will be elected.

Seneca Health Care District

Incumbents Dana Seandel, Richard Rydell and David Walls have filed to retain their seats and are being challenged by William Howe, David Baker, Ronald Longacre and Nancy Foote.

Feather River College

Feather River College is also going to an election for Trustee Area 4 (Indian Valley) where Margaret Garcia will challenge incumbent Guy McNett.

Though candidates represent particular trustee areas, they run at-large in the county.

Portola City Council

There are two four-year terms and two two-year terms on the ballot.

Four individuals are vying for the two four-year terms: incumbents Phil Oels and Bill Powers, along with challengers Terri Woods and Casey Williams.

Seven individuals are vying for a two-year term. The top two vote earners will fill the positions. The candidates are: Pat Morton (the current mayor who is currently serving a four-year term), along with Larry Douglas, BJ Pearson, Kim Scott, Timothy Kreth, Stan Peiler and Max Bradshaw.

Write-in candidates

Those who wish to mount a write-in campaign may do so from Sept. 10 through Oct. 23, by filing the necessary paperwork with the county elections office.

Write-in candidates must file the required paperwork, in order to be considered a legitimate candidate.

Write-in candidacies are possible only for those races that will appear on the ballot. An open seat that attracted only one candidate is closed and won’t be on the ballot, such as was the case with Feather River College Trustee Area 1, where Trent Saxton was the only individual to submit nomination papers. Saxton automatically will assume that seat on the board.

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]