[the_ad_placement id=”banner-right-placement”]

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]

Final primary votes tallied

The final June 5 Primary ballots were tallied June 14, increasing Plumas County’s voter turnout to 54.78 percent. But the new totals did nothing to change the results for local races.

District 3 Supervisor Sherrie Thrall will retain her seat with 59.45 percent of the vote. Her challengers Joseph Maumoynier and Michael Nashlund earned 26.91  and 13.42 percent respectively.

District 5 Supervisor Jeff Engel, likewise will retain his seat and avoid a November runoff, garnering 56.91 percent of the vote. Challengers Tim Driscoll and Mimi Garner earned 33.96 and 8.66 percent respectively.

Unofficial results were released soon after the polls closed, but the final count couldn’t be made until all of the ballots postmarked by June 5 were received and signatures verified. That process was completed for 1,500 ballots, but did not change the original outcomes.

Other county elected officials — County Superintendent of Schools Terry Oestreich, Assessor Chuck Leonhardt, Auditor-Controller Roberta Allen, Clerk-Recorder Kathy Williams, District Attorney David Hollister, Sheriff Greg Hagwood and Treasurer Julie White — ran unopposed, though their names still appeared on the ballot.

Plumas County voters favored Republican Doug LaMalfa for Congress, giving him 52.91 percent. He will face Chico resident Audrey Denney in November. Throughout the district, LaMalfa earned 51.7 percent to Denney’s 18.5 percent in a field of seven candidates.

Plumas voters gave State Assemblyman Brian Dahle, a Republican, 65.42 percent of their votes. Districtwide, he amassed 64.6 percent of the vote to second-place finisher Democrat Caleen Sisk’s 23.3 percent.

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]