[the_ad_placement id=”banner-right-placement”]

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]

Golf Results for the week of 8/14/19

Bailey Creek women

Bailey Creek’s Women’s Golf Club looks forward to another week of golf and welcomes any new players, guests and members. Regular play days are Wednesdays, arrival time 10:30 with tee off at 11 a.m. Call the pro shop 259-4653 or Jenni Cesarin (Captain) 284-7469 if interested.

Graeagle Meadows men

It’s mid-season at Graeagle Meadows and the Men’s Club continues with good turnouts for weekly play. Twenty-four members signed up for Badditos and the Bandits on Aug. 2. Badditos are the higher handicap players hitting from combo tees. The name came up as a take off from The Bandits so they became Los Badditos.

There’s the history, here is the play. Nineteen hit from the combo tees with the Badditos in 2-man teams playing 2-Man Best Ball.

Taking first place with a score of 60 was the team of Norm Miller and Bert Bellows. Following them in second place at 62 was Dan Anderson and Mike Gibson. Third place was awarded to the team of Gary Kinkley and Leo Reihsen with a score of 63. Skins were also a part of the game. Mike Gibson won two skins while Dan Anderson, John Grasso, Steve Harding, and Jack Gilbert each won one skin. There were five Bandits playing from the white tees, however due to a late finish we were unable to record their results. Sorry guys!

August 7 golfing had another good turnout. In preparation for the upcoming Member/Guest Invitational, it was decided to play just low net plus skins.

Twenty-two members participated hitting from both combo and white tees utilizing Rule Sec. 3-5 adjusting handicaps for players competing from different sets of tees. Final results came in with a tie for first place between Jack Gilbert and Leo Reihsen, both with a net 65. Dan Anderson’s 67 took second place while John Grasso came in third at net 69. There were six skins, one each to Chuck Franck, Bob McIlroy, Chuck Weidner, Bob Davies, Dave Dierking and Norm Nichols.

Information about the Graeagle Men’s Club can be found by visiting gmeadowsclubs.com/MenHomeDir/index.html.

Graeagle Meadows women

Aug. 1 was the first round of a two-round tournament for the Graeagle Meadows ladies. Round two took place Aug. 8. Over the two days, GMWGC members teed it upto compete in the annual two-roundPartner Eclectic Tournament.The betterball of the two partners is the team score for each hole, and may be improved by the second round’s score.

The first place winners for Low Gross over the field were Cynthia Baldwin and Karen Linde with a score of 71. In the First Flight, first place low net, Debbie Fuetsch and Janis McCreary with a net 57.In the Second Flight, first place, Holly Anderson and Kimberly Kaznowski with a net 52 on a scorecard playoff; second place, Renee Miller and Dee Walker also with 52. In the Third Flight, first place, Diane Forsberg and Cathy MacDonald (54); and, second place, Giuliana Glazer and C. Spencer (56).

Lake Almanor Country Club

The LACC Women’s Golf Club hosted its annual Sugar Pine Tournament on July 16 with 56 golfers and 18 extra lunch guests. The theme was “A Walk Down Memory Lane” celebrating the past 15 years of Sugar Pine Tournaments. Photos, décor and stories were shared from past tournaments with their various themes from Pirates, Birds, Baseball, Forest Creatures, Tee Parties, Rock n Roll, Wine, Christmas, Polynesia, Western, Sugar n Spice to Around the World in 18 Holes.

The golf tournament format was two-person partner better ball net, with the field divided into two flights. Competition was close with many places decided by a card play off. The winners were:

First Flight

1st Patty Cleland & Kathy Benner

2nd Marcia Spooner & Lynn Bottini

3rd Mary Craig & Patty McNamara

4th Jane Hilliard & Maggie Fleming

5th Trudy Leete & Wynnetta Regli

Second Flight

1st Toddy Cutler & Susan Espana

2nd Martha Vlahos & Marsha Conwill

3rd Ellen Doran & Julie Kataoka

4th Robin Greer & Jan Reese

5th Jill Dalton & Barbara Pescio

Closest to the pin guest went to Nancy Dooly. Closest to the pin member went to Susan Espana who had a HOLE IN ONE!

We are very grateful to our wonderful sponsors: McNeill Security Storage, Holiday Market, Lake Almanor Fitness Center, Slusher Plumbing and Olah Construction.

Tournament  Co-Chairs Mary Craig and Trudy Leete thank everyone involved with the tournament for their help and participation. The weather even cooperated making it a lovely day on our beautiful course.

The LACC Men’s Golf Club hosted their annual invitational. This year’s event was a huge success thanks to the many volunteers. Without all of them the tournament would not have been the same.

Jason Schaffer of Clifford’s Restaurant was also of great help. He served breakfast and lunch for two days plus a fabulous dinner at the end of the tournament. The course was in great shape thanks to Art  Broughton and his crew. And of course, no tournament is complete without a great Golf Pro. Thanks Jeremy Dunkason.

Congratulations to this years’ winners:

Flight 1

1st Net and Tournament Champions – Mark Finney & Bryan Guynn

2nd NetMark Wilburn & Bob LeDoux

3rd NetLyle James & Tony Bloomfield

Low GrossMark Wilburn & Bob LeDoux

Flight 2

1st NetTars Petrie & Russ Brown

2nd NetEv Eaton & Jason Shaffer

3rd NetKen Conley & Troy Franzen

Low Gross – Tars Petrie & Russ Brown

Flight 3

1st NetRich McLaughlin & Rick McLaughlin

2nd NetTim Maguire & Mark Stahl

3rd NetRich Picanco & Rick Picanco

Low GrossRich McLaughlin & Rick McLaughlin

Hole-in-one on July 19 by Don Ochse on hole # 4 (194 yd).

Stats provided by Cliff Vinsonhaler, Tournament Chairman.

Mount Huff

On Aug. 7, Wednesday morning scrambles once again didn’t disappoint the golfers, beautiful weather and fun times were had by all. Some more than others, as the winning team of Ron William, Larry Craggs, and Jeff Stevens brought in the win with an 11 under.Talk about teamwork!

The second-place team of Matt Taborski, Darel Joseph, Ron Carter, and Henry Martin came in at 7 under and we had two teams tied to bring in the field. Chip ins were won by Larry Craggs, Darel Joseph and Bill McRoberts.

More details to come about some upcoming events. But remember all are welcome on Wednesday morning scrambles to come join in the fun. Interested folks may call the course to get signed up for a day of fun and prizes, 284-6300.

Whitehawk women

The Whitehawk Ladies Invitational started Aug. 12 with a horse race then Aug. 13 continuing the Hawaiian Paniolo DAZE theme, the golfing began. Look for results next week.

Whitehawk Ranch ProShop number is 836-0394 for questions on Ladies Golf. Please leave your name and number.

To have your golf results and club news included in this weekly section, email the information to [email protected] by Friday at noon.

[the_ad_placement id=”banner-left-placement”]